Tuesday, January 21, 2014

After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris

After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse

Overview from Barnes and Noble:

Dead Ever After marked the end of the Sookie Stackhouse novels—a series that garnered millions of fans and spawned the hit HBO television show True Blood. It also stoked a hunger that will never die, …a hunger to know what happened next.

With characters arranged alphabetically—from the Ancient Pythoness to Bethany Zanelli—bestselling author Charlaine Harris takes fans into the future of their favorite residents of Bon Temps and environs. You’ll learn how Michele and Jason’s marriage fared, what happened to Sookie’s cousin Hunter, and whether Tara and JB’s twins grew up to be solid citizens.

This coda provides the answers to your lingering questions—including details of Sookie’s own happily-ever-after….
The book features extensive interior art by acclaimed Sookie artist Lisa Desimini, including a Sookieverse Alphabet, color endpapers, and several full-page black and white interior illustrations.
My thoughts:
This was a nice, quick read about many, if not all, of the characters from the series.  There were many mentioned here that I had forgotten or couldn't even remember, but it was nice to see what Harris foresaw for the main characters in the future.  After all the pain and heartache Sookie went through in the thirteen books of the series, I liked knowing that she was getting her happily ever after.  I wonder if True Blood will be as kind to her when it ends at the conclusion of next season.  I read a lot of complaints on how short the book was and how lacking in details is was, but that worked for me.  I like having a short reference to what happened to people, but also to have the chance to imagine some of the details for myself if I feel like it.  You can read the basics, but you can allow yourself to fill in the blanks to your own liking if you so please. 

Product Details

No comments:

Post a Comment