Thursday, August 8, 2013

Lost and Found In Cedar Cove by Debbie Macomber

Overview from Barnes and Noble:

Debbie Macomber’s heartwarming new series, set at the Rose Harbor Inn in  picturesque Cedar Cove, displays the author’s signature talent for creating characters who feel like friends, and small towns that feel like home. In this original short story available exclusively as an eBook, Jo Marie Rose readies her inn for spring, turning to her new friends Grace and Olivia when she needs them most.
Jo Marie has big plans for her bed-and-breakfast. With the help of handyman Mark Taylor, she intends to plant a beautiful rose garden in time for her upcoming open house. Jo Marie and Mark rarely see eye to eye—especially on matters of home improvement—but she knows he has her best interests at heart. After the two walk the grounds, Jo Marie realizes that her beloved rescue dog, Rover, is missing, and at a time when she most needs a friend, Mark abruptly leaves. Confused by Mark’s behavior and worried for Rover’s safety, Jo Marie searches for her precious pup all over Cedar Cove. Rover is on an adventure of his own—one that will lead to a delightful surprise for two unlikely people.
My thoughts:
This short story is short and sweet, about making meaningful connections, not being afraid of what other people think of your friendships, and about how much love people can feel for the animals they share their lives with.  In the first book in the series about Rose Harbor Inn Jo Marie bought the bed and breakfast after losing her military husband.  The Inn is located in Cedar Cove, the setting of another one of Macomber's series and all her favorite characters are still living there.  I was disappointed when Macomber announced that she was ending the series, so it is nice to see that the friends I've read about in the pages of her books will continue to live on. 
This book came out right before Macomber's TV series began on the Hallmark channel.  I watched the first episode and enjoyed it, but forgot all about it the second week.  Saturday night isn't a usual TV watching night at our house and think we were playing outside.  Now I have to see if I can catch up on what I missed.  I love the way these characters seem like real people and work through real emotions.

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780804177863
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 7/15/2013
  • Series: Rose Harbor Series
  • Sold by: Random House
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 36

Meet the Author

Debbie Macomber
Debbie Macomber, the author of Starting Now, The Inn at Rose Harbor, Angels at the Table, A Turn in the Road, 1105 Yakima Street, Hannah’s List, and Twenty Wishes, is a leading voice in women’s fiction. Eight of her novels have hit #1 on the New York Times bestseller list, with three debuting at #1 on the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly lists. In 2009 and 2010, Mrs. Miracle and Call Me Mrs. Miracle were Hallmark Channel’s top-watched movies for the year. Debbie Macomber has more than 170 million copies of her books in print worldwide.

No comments:

Post a Comment