Friday, August 9, 2013

Raven by Lauren Oliver (Delirium series)

Overview from Barnes and Noble:

This captivating 50-page digital-original story set in the world of Lauren Oliver's New York Times bestselling Delirium series focuses on Raven, the fiery leader of a rebel group in the Wilds.
As a teenager, Raven made the split-second decision to flee across the border to the Wilds, compelled to save an abandoned newborn—a baby girl left for dead and already blue from the cold. When she and the baby are taken in by a band of rebels, Raven finds herself an outsider within a tight-knit group. The only other newcomer is an untrustworthy boy known as the Thief until he finally earns himself a new name: Tack.

Now she and Tack are inseparable, committed to each other, the fledgling rebellion, and a future together. But as they both take center stage in the fight, Raven must decide whether the dangers of the revolution are worth risking her dreams of a peaceful life with Tack.

As her story hurtles back and forth between past and present, Raven transforms from a scared girl newly arrived in the Wilds to the tough leader who helps Lena save former Deliria-Free poster boy Julian Fineman from a death sentence. Whatever the original mission may have been, Raven abides by a conviction that she believes to her core: You always return for the people you love.

By turns surprising, revelatory, and poignant, Raven's story enriches the Delirium world and resonates with a voice that is as vulnerable as it is strong.

My thoughts:
I am on the waiting list for the final book in the Delirium trilogy, but this was a nice reminder of the world.  Sometimes I like discovering a series after most of the books are written, because if you read them in order it is easier to remember the world the author has created.  I enjoyed the first two books in the series and I am looking forward to reading the last one.

This story is told from Raven's point of view.  Raven is the leader of the group Lena meets when she escapes to the wild alone, as Alex doesn't make it past the fence.  After time has passed she is trained to go back into the society to work towards the resistances goals.  There she meets Julian who she decides that she wants to save from death.  Raven and Tack are helping her with the mission of rescuing him.  This story takes place at the same time as book two, it is just a part of the story and it is told from a different perspective.  Already knowing the outcome of the rescue mission takes away some of the suspense or tension, but finding out how Raven and Tack ended up in the position they are in now makes them more relateable characters.

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062267771
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 3/5/2013
  • Series: Delirium Series
  • Sold by: Harpercollins
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 36

Meet the Author

Lauren Oliver
Lauren Oliver captivated readers with her first novel, the New York Times bestseller Before I Fall, a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year. She followed that up with her stunning New York Times bestselling trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem. Oliver is also the author of two luminous novels for younger readers, The Spindlers and Liesl & Po, both of which were named Kirkus Best Books of the Year. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU's MFA program, Lauren Oliver lives in Brooklyn, New York.

No comments:

Post a Comment