Monday, June 20, 2011

Pirates Past Noon by Mary Pope Osborne (Magic Tree House Series #4)

Jack and Annie are ready for their next fantasy adventure in the bestselling middle-grade series—the Magic Tree House!

It's a treasure trove of trouble!

Jack and Annie are in for a high-seas adventure when the Magic Tree House whisks them back to the days of deserted islands, secret maps—and ruthless pirates! Will they discover a buried treasure? Or will they be forced to walk the plank?

My thoughts:
This is the fourth trip for Jack and Annie and each time they find another clue as to who the magical person is who owns the tree house.  If you have never read the series and don't want to find out ahead of time stop reading now, but if you have read any book after this one the magical person is named in every one so you already know.  The owner of the tree house is Morgan Le Fey, a magical librarian from the time of King Arthur and Camelot.  She travels though time to collect books for the scribes in her time.  No one besides Jack and Annie has been able to make the tree house work or even see it.  They can see it because Annie believes in magic and Jack loves knowledge.  On each of their adventures Morgan has gone along as a helper.  She has been a pteranodon, a knight, a cat and a parrot.  At the end of this one she reveals herself to the children.

Jack and Annie leave a dreary day in Frog Creek, Pennsylvania to travel to an island in the Carribean where they encounter illiterate pirates who force them to help read a map to Captain Kidd's treasure.  This is a good summer time reading book because it would make for fun sandbox games and provides just enough real facts to interest readers in learning more about pirates and ships.

Product Details

Reading level: Ages 9-12
Paperback: 80 pages
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (March 8, 1994)
ISBN-10: 0679824251
ISBN-13: 978-0679824251

No comments:

Post a Comment