Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Spellbound Falls by Janet Chapman (Spellbound Falls #1)

Overview from Barnes and Noble:

New York Times bestselling author Janet Chapman takes us to charming Spellbound Falls, where strange things have started happening ever since Maximilian Oceanus came to town…
Maximilian Oceanus arrives in Spellbound Falls just in time to save Olivia Baldwin from an overly aggressive suitor, only to find himself attracted to the beautiful, if rather aloof, widow. And although Mac has come to Inglenook to get a handle on fatherhood, his newly discovered six-year-old son has set his sights on finding his father a wife.
Olivia, however, is busy getting Inglenook ready for its new season, so she doesn’t have time to deal with her growing attraction to the dangerously seductive Mac. Besides, weird stuff seems to happen all around him. Take the fact that her seatbelt keeps getting stuck in his presence, or locks magically open for him without keys, and that he seems to have a talent for sensing things. Never mind the three lost albatrosses walking down the road in the middle of the night. Since when are there albatrosses in Maine?
But despite Olivia’s resistance to falling under the sexy man’s spell, Olivia is having trouble fighting her longing. Because she knows Mac is just the man to unlock the powerful passion deep within her….

My thoughts:
I've had this book sitting my shelf for quite some time.  My TBR shelf always seems to be overflowing and it actually makes picking out my next book harder, rather than easier, because there are so many choices!  I loved Chapman's series about the Highlanders who were transported from the 12th century to present day Maine.  I loved the first few books in that series the most, but I've enjoyed her other books as well.  Having that magic sprinkled in makes her romances different than others in the genre.

Olivia is a widow running a summer camp with her in-laws while raising an 8 year old daughter.  She lives in the small town of Spellbound Falls.  Having grown up as an orphan she really feels strongly about family.  There were some issues in her marriage that she has kept hidden since her husband's death.  She works hard, but she also avoids confrontation and worries about what she is teaching her daughter about life if she can't stand up for herself.

Mac, who first made an appearance in her Midnight Bay series, is not who he seems to be.  He has a special kind of magic and, like the Highlanders in her other stories, is from a different time and place.  He has recently discovered that he has a 6 year old son, upon the death of the boys mother, and is coming to the camp to learn how to be a parent.

Being a romance there is, of course, an attraction between these two.  But through getting to know one another they also each get to know themselves better and come to terms with issues from the past that have been holding them back.  They find their way to be themselves instead of losing themselves which makes them stronger people. 

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780515150360
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 2/28/2012
  • Series:Spellbound Falls Series , #1
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Edition description: Original
  • Pages: 352

Meet the Author

Janet Chapman is the author of nineteen contemporary and paranormal romance novels, all set in the state of Maine, where she lives with her husband surrounded by wildlife. Best known for her magical Highlander Series (a family saga of 12th-century warriors rebuilding their clans in modern-day Maine), Janet also has several contemporary series set on the coast and in the mountains. With over three million books printed in six languages, her stories regularly appear on the New York Times and the USA Today bestseller lists. When she’s not writing, Janet and her husband are camping, hunting, fishing, and generally rubbing elbows with nature. Visit her website at www.janetchapman.com

No comments:

Post a Comment